Humans of Columbia

When we were assigned the Humans of Columbia project, I didn’t worry too much. It seemed fairly straight forward and simple. You shoot footage of three people with a brief interview from each and then splice it all together in a video. It was easy enough.

It wasn’t until I began filming earlier this week that I realized how difficult this project would turn out to be.

I decided a good place to go would be the mall, seeing as there were a lot of people walking around all of the time and many stores to choose from. Plus, I had rented the camera from the J-school for the night so I had all the time I needed to get appropriate interviews and b-roll.

But, from the moment I walked through the doors of the food court, I found it was nearly impossible to get anyone to talk to me. I was the weird girl carrying around a camera and a tripod in the mall. People stared, and then when I would ask to film them, would walk away or say that they were in a hurry.

I finally found my first subject at Auntie Anne’s Pretzels, but it didn’t get much easier from there. It was difficult to be able to follow her around as she worked, but still get long enough shots that would be decent enough for my project. I ended up spending an hour and a half there for that one 30 second portion of my project. I got dozens of shots, but looking back over them now, I realize how terrible they turned out to be.

It was a challenge to be able to get the right angles as well. My camera could only go so close to the work that she was doing in the shop due to the counter that was separating us. I attempted to work around it, but I’m not sure how it will turn out in the editing process.

Even though my project didn’t turn out quite as I thought it would, I’m hoping that this learning experience will greatly improve my skills, as well as make me more comfortable with working the camera and camera equipment owned by the journalism school.

Leave a Reply

