Finally getting the hang of it

As far as general assignment shifts go, today was one of the best. I’m happy to say that I’m finally getting the hang of how things work in the Missourian newsroom.

As soon as I walked into the newsroom, I was handed a story assignment about a motorcycle crash that had happened the night before. Although I only had a few short paragraphs to write for the story and I was unable to get the man’s condition from the University Hospital, it was nice to be able to get something done so quickly. We had the story up even before lecture started at 9:30 a.m.!

Then I went to go cover the fire that didn’t actually happen. Our assistant city editor on duty was listening in on the police/fire scanner and heard of a fire that was allegedly burning down a house near Moberly, Missouri. She sent me to the location, which was about 20 minutes away, but when I got there, there wasn’t a fire to be seen.

I returned to the newsroom, a little disappointed that I didn’t get to cover anything as exciting as a fire would have been.

However, I was presented with another story assignment a little while later. I was told to go down to the Boone County Courthouse to receive the probable cause statement for a child abuse arrest that had happened two days earlier.

It turns out, a Moberly woman, who was the caretaker for a 12-year-old boy with disabilities had abused and assaulted him on several occasions.

Reading the statement and then composing a story was a challenge. I wasn’t sure how much of the terrifying details I should include, and I was horrified at what this woman had done to the poor child. But, I’m overall happy with how the end product turned out. Check out my  story here!

Hopefully this shift is one of many general assignment days which will be exciting and busy. Time always passes a lot faster and I have a lot more fun when I get the chance to go out into the world to report.

 

 

Leave a Reply

