Another exciting week at the Missourian

This past week has been an exciting one, that’s for sure. This always seems to happen, but one week I’ll have zero stories published, and then the next I’ll publish a whole bunch. This week I published four stories, with three written and just needing edits.

The first story was event coverage of the the yearly Goldberg Lecture that is hosted by both the journalism school and medical school here. I found out about it from MU Info, an email that is sent out to all registered students at the university. I’m pretty sure I’m the only one that ever reads that thing! But anyway, it sounded really interesting, so I pitched it to our assistant city editor, Shane. The topic was really interesting and I really enjoyed covering it. Dr. Danielle Ofri, who also does a lot of work for the New York Times, spoke about how improved communication between patients and doctors can lead to improved health. The discussion it led to was fascinating!

The next two stories were from my GA shift. They were both based on press releases sent out by the police department and attorney general, but they were both still fun to write. The first was about a $231,600 embezzlement from an employer and the second was about a bank robbery.

My final story for the week was published this morning. I had been working with a story about non-opioid alternatives for pain management, and one of the sources I was talking to told me about how flushing medications or throwing them in the trash can not only negatively impact the environment, but also pose a potential risk for misuse and abuse of the drug. This led me to do a story about National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day, which is taking place this weekend. We’ve covered this a lot in the past, but we’ve never talked about why it’s important.So that’s what I did, and I’m very pleased with the results. I’m also incredibly pleased with the photos that went along with the story. When I pitched the idea for the photos, I had no idea that they would turn out so great!

 

 

Leave a Reply

